This Day in History: 1878-07-13

(13 July) The Treaty of Berlin was signed by the Ottoman Empire and the other major European powers, including the United Kingdom, Austria-Hungary, France, Germany, the Kingdom of Italy, and Russia. The treaty practically ended the Ottoman Empire as a significant European power. The Ottomans lost huge Balkan territories.